Author - admin

Vellappally Elected SNDP Yogam General Secretary Again

KOLLAM: Vellappally Natesan has been re-elected general secretary of the Sree Narayana Dharma Paripalana (SNDP) Yogam in the organisational election held on Sunday. It was a clean sweep for the Vellappally faction as all the candidates from his side won.

Of the total votes of over 10,000, Vellapally received 8946 votes while the rival panel received only 320 votes

The elections were held amidst protests from those opposing in the official panel-led by incumbent general secretary Vellappally Natesan.

The dissidents, led by general secretary candidate Shaji Vettooran, staged a protest in front of the election venue at S N College.

The police have taken 20 persons into custody including Shaji, Kilimanoor Chandrababu, Rajmohan Unni and N Dhanesan among others.  Shaji Vettooran alleged that the election was held in an undemocratic manner and was heavily loaded in favour of Vellappally Natesan.

The SNDP had 28 lakh permanent members. But voting right was restricted to 10,428 members.

Tight security had been put in place at S N College and the surrounding areas where the election held. Vellappally’s son Thushar Vellappally was already elected unanimously to the post of vice-president as the contestant against him had withdrawn his candidature.

The main contestants include Cherunniyur Jayaprakash pitted against Dr M N Soman for the president’s post, N Dhanesan against Devaswom secretary Arayakkandi Santhosh.